2021 Unofficial Election Results

Candidate Advance Poll Institutional Vote Subdivision A - Coleman Subdivision B - Blairmore/Frank Subdivision C - Bellevue/Hillcrest Special (Mail-in) Ballot Total  
Filipuzzi, Dave 253 29 328 305 338 10 1263 Elected
Fletcher, Taralynn 142 16 222 202 209 3 794  
Girhiny, Glen 232 26 323 297 298 6 1182 Elected
Glavin, Doreen 249 26 335 316 361 6 1293 Elected
Kubik, Vicki 228 21 268 273 285 6 1081 Elected
Sygutek, Lisa 251 25 307 278 283 3 1147 Elected
Ward, Dean 248 23 344 278 316 8 1217 Elected

Official Candidates List


Dave Filipuzzi
Taralynn Fletcher
Glen Girhiny
Doreen Glavin
Vicki Kubik
Lisa Sygutek
Dean Ward


Blair Painter was elected by acclamation to the Office of Mayor on September 20, 2021.

Election Day

Monday, October 18
10:00am - 8:00pm

Voters will elect six (6) Councillors in addition to a Referendum, and a Senate vote.  All ballots will be available at the polling stations.

  • Subdivision A: All electors from Coleman. Voting Station: Crowsnest Pass Sports Complex, 8702 - 22 Avenue Coleman
  • Subdivision B:All electors from Blairmore and Frank. Voting Station: Elks Hall, 2025 - 129 StreetBlairmore
  • Subdivision C: All electors from Bellevue and Hillcrest. Voting Station: MDM Community Centre, 2802- 222 Street Bellevue.
  • Institutional vote will occur at Crowsnest Pass Health Centre, Tecumseh Apartments, Westwind Apartments, and York Creek Lodge.

Advance Poll

Tuesday, October 12
10:00am – 8:00pm
Elk’s Hall
2025 – 129 Street, Blairmore


This year, the Alberta Government is holding a referendum concurrently with the 2021 General Municipal Election.

The two questions Albertan's will have an opportunity to vote on at the referendum are:

  1. Should section 36(2) of the Constitution Act, 1982 – Parliament and the government of Canada’s commitment to the principle of making equalization payments – be removed from the constitution?
  2. Do you want Alberta to adopt year-round Daylight Saving Time, which is summer hours, eliminating the need to change our clocks twice a year?

For more information, visit https://www.alberta.ca/provincial-referendum.aspxhttps://www.alberta.ca/provincial-referendum.aspx

Vote by Special Ballot

Municipal Council passed a resolution to provide the opportunity to electors to vote by special ballot in the 2021 General Municipal Election.

Who can apply to vote by special ballot?

An elector may apply for a special ballot package if they are unable to vote at the advance vote (October 12, 2021) or at the voting station on Election Day (October 18, 2021) because of:

  • Physical incapacity (including those that are displaying symptoms of COVID-19 or other illness, those in quarantine, immunocompromised individuals or others wishing to abstain from in-person voting due to COVID-19), or
  • Absence from the local voting jurisdiction, or
  • Being a returning officer, deputy returning officer, constable, candidate, official agent or scrutineer located at a voting station other than the one designated for their place of residence.

When can you apply to receive a special ballot package?

Electors who meet the special ballot requirements can apply for a special ballot package any time between September 7, 2021 and the closing of voting stations on Election Day.

How to apply for a special ballot package

To apply for a special ballot package, the elector can:

  • Phone the Municipal Office at 403-562-8833.
  • Email the Returning Officer at Barbara.Kelly@crowsnestpass.com.
  • Visit the Municipal Office between 8:30am and 4:30pm on regular business days.

When will special ballot packages be mailed?

Special ballot packages will be ready to mail in early October, once the Returning Officer confirms there will be an election and the ballots have arrived from the printers and other sources (the senate and referendum ballots).

How will my special ballot be counted?

Special ballots must be returned to the Municipal Office at 8502 – 19 Avenue, Coleman NO LATER than the close of election polls on Election Day (October 18, 2021).  Late ballots will not be opened.

Ballots can be returned to the Municipal office either by:

  • In person to 8502 – 19 Avenue, Coleman (Monday to Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm or in the night drop box located at the north-east corner of the Municipal office)
  • Mail to Box 600, Crowsnest Pass, AB, T0K 0E0 (self-addressed envelope provided with the special ballot package).

For more information, please contact Barb Kelly, Returning Officer, at 403-562-8833.

Voter Eligibility

You are eligible to vote in this election pursuant to the Local Authorities Elections Act if you:

  1. are at least 18 years old,
  2. are a Canadian citizen, and
  3. reside in Alberta and your place of residence is located in the Municipality of Crowsnest Pass on election day.

Voters will be asked to show government issued identification at the polling station that shows the elector’s photograph, current address and name. If you are unable to produce government issued ID you must produce two pieces of ID from the Voter ID Requirements listed below.

Senate Election Proclamation