Municipal Planning Commission

The Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) reviews development permit applications related to the variance of development standards that are outside of the Development Officer’s mandate and the consideration of discretionary uses in accordance with the provincial land use policies, the Municipal Government Act and the associated Subdivision and Development Regulations, and the Municipality of Crowsnest Pass Land Use Bylaw and statutory plans.

Anyone who is interested in planning and development issues in the Municipality is invited to attend Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) meetings - please visit the calendar for scheduled meetings.  The MPC is made up of five members of the community and two members from Council. The MPC is advised by the Municipality’s Development Office staff, including the Development Officer, on development permit and subdivision applications, and by staff from the Oldman River Regional Services Commission on subdivision applications.

The Municipal Planning Commission meeting is not a public hearing and therefore, only the applicants for development permits or subdivision applications are allowed to speak and only when questioned by the Commission members for the purpose of gaining additional information. If an appeal followed from the approval of a development permit or subdivision application, the MPC is not involved in the appeal process. Please see “Subdivision and Development Appeals” regarding appeals.

Questions regarding the activities of the MPC may be directed to  the Development, Engineering, and Operations Office at 403-563-2220 or by email at

Inquiries regarding the subdivision application process should be addressed to the Oldman River Regional Services Commission at (403) 329-1344 or by email at

1042, 2020 - Municipal Planning Commission Bylaw

1066, 2021 - Amendment to the Municipal Planning Commission Bylaw

Regular Meeting

2:00 PM Council Chambers | 8502 - 19 Avenue, Coleman